Native American Heritage Month: Millennia of Movement Exhibit

Sunday, November 28, 2021 8am

+ 10 dates

  • Monday, November 29, 2021 8am
  • Tuesday, November 30, 2021 8am
  • Wednesday, December 1, 2021 8am
  • Thursday, December 2, 2021 8am
  • Friday, December 3, 2021 8am
  • Saturday, December 4, 2021 8am
  • Sunday, December 5, 2021 8am
  • Monday, December 6, 2021 8am
  • Tuesday, December 7, 2021 8am
  • Wednesday, December 8, 2021 8am
Add to calendar

The Millennia of Movement Exhibit explores the idea of movement in and on cultural landscapes, using ancient and contemporary Native American examples from the Southeast. Guests will learn about the dynamic and enduring Native connection to vast natural landscapes. The exhibit will engage visitors by answering broad questions such as what types of things move and moved on these landscapes (objects, ideas, people), how do/did they move on landscapes (water travel, roads/paths, oral communication), and why do/did they move in these ways (subsistence, power, religion, wealth, and most importantly, identity). It will highlight archaeologically identified examples of movement such as trade, exchange and the movement of ideas through symbols called iconography. It also will highlight contemporary Southeastern cultures, many displaced involuntarily during the Indian Removal period.

 

In addition, focus on the persistence of identity and culture between tribes removed to Oklahoma and elsewhere, and those that remained in traditional regions. These include the Choctaw, Cherokee, Chickasaw, and Creek among others.

 

The exhibit, which opens at 2 p.m. on Nov. 1, is presented by the Moundville Archaeological Park and Division of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion.

 

For more information, contact the Intercultural Diversity Center at ua_idc@ua.edu.

Event Details