LGBTQ+ History Month 50 Years: The Stonewall Uprising Traveling Exhibit

Monday, October 18, 2021

+ 10 dates

  • Tuesday, October 19, 2021
  • Wednesday, October 20, 2021
  • Thursday, October 21, 2021
  • Friday, October 22, 2021
  • Saturday, October 23, 2021
  • Sunday, October 24, 2021
  • Monday, October 25, 2021
  • Tuesday, October 26, 2021
  • Wednesday, October 27, 2021
  • Thursday, October 28, 2021
Add to calendar

To celebrate LGBTQ+ History Month, the Intercultural Diversity Center will host the Stonewall National Museum’s “50 Years: The Stonewall Uprising” traveling exhibit. The June 1969 riots at the Stonewall Inn in New York’s Greenwich Village are generally cited as the starting point of the LGBTQ+ rights movement. Participants will learn about the creation and execution of the LGBTQ+ rights movement, the era of LGBTQ+ liberation, the impact of gay activist organizations, and understand why the Stonewall riots became the catalytic movement in the effort to secure equal rights for LGBTQ+ Americans. For more information, contact the Intercultural Diversity Center at ua_idc@ua.edu.

Event Details