Freshwater Mussel Exhibit

Wednesday, September 22, 2021 10:00am to 12:00am

+ 10 dates

  • Thursday, September 23, 2021 10:00am to 12:00am
  • Friday, September 24, 2021 10:00am to 12:00am
  • Saturday, September 25, 2021 10:00am to 12:00am
  • Monday, September 27, 2021 10:00am to 12:00am
  • Tuesday, September 28, 2021 10:00am to 12:00am
  • Wednesday, September 29, 2021 10:00am to 12:00am
  • Thursday, September 30, 2021 10:00am to 12:00am
  • Friday, October 1, 2021 10:00am to 12:00am
  • Saturday, October 2, 2021 10:00am to 12:00am
  • Monday, October 4, 2021 10:00am to 12:00am

427 Sixth Avenue, Tuscaloosa, AL 35487

https://almnh.museums.ua.edu/ #UAMuseums
View map Add to calendar

The Freshwater Mussel Exhibit is located on the third floor of the Alabama Museum of Natural History and explores Alabama’s Freshwater Biodiversity with a look into why they are important to our environment and mussel biology including learning how to age mussels. We also explore how mussels were used in fashion with a collaboration with The Fashion Archive at the University of Alabama, exploring how the fashion industry effected the mussel populations in Alabama. If this sparks your interest we will soon have an online exhibit where you can learn more about all aspects of the exhibit.

 

The museum is located in Smith Hall on the University of Alabama campus and is open Monday through Saturday. The street address is 427 Sixth Avenue, Tuscaloosa, AL 35487.

 

The Freshwater Mussel Exhibit is currently on display and a permanent exhibit at the Alabama Museum of Natural History.

 

Admission for Adults is $2, Students (K-12)/Senior Adults (55+) is $1, and Children under 5/University of Alabama Students/University of Alabama Faculty/University of Alabama Staff are free. 

Event Details