Exhibit: Weaving Muscogee Creek Culture: The Artistry of Mary Smith

Friday, January 28, 2022 10am to 4:30pm

+ 10 dates

  • Saturday, January 29, 2022 10am to 4:30pm
  • Tuesday, February 1, 2022 10am to 4:30pm
  • Wednesday, February 2, 2022 10am to 4:30pm
  • Thursday, February 3, 2022 10am to 4:30pm
  • Friday, February 4, 2022 10am to 4:30pm
  • Saturday, February 5, 2022 10am to 4:30pm
  • Tuesday, February 8, 2022 10am to 4:30pm
  • Wednesday, February 9, 2022 10am to 4:30pm
  • Thursday, February 10, 2022 10am to 4:30pm
  • Friday, February 11, 2022 10am to 4:30pm
View map Free Event Add to calendar

Celebrate Native American Heritage Month and visit the Mildred Westervelt Warner Transportation Museum to see the work of Muscogee Creek Artist, Mary Smith!

Mary Smith is an exceptional contemporary artist who celebrates her heritage through her artwork. Smith is based in Bixby, Oklahoma and is a citizen of the Muscogee Creek Nation, where she currently teaches and practices basket weaving amongst other art forms. While Smith is best known for reviving the Muscogee Creek double false braid rim technique in basketry, she also creates pottery and other art forms. She has won numerous accolades, such as Best of Show at the Five Tribes Museum and “Best of Class” at the 6th Annual Cherokee Art Market at the Hard Rock Hotel and Casino in Tulsa, OK, and continues to teach in Oklahoma. Smith has had an incredible impact on the revitalization of indigenous art forms and her artwork is bridging the gap between past and future Native Artists.

This exhibit was designed by students in the Museum Certificate Course "Museum Education and Exhibit" at The University of Alabama and is in collaboration with Moundville Archaeological Park and Museum (The University of Alabama Museums).  The goal of the exhibition is to share the fascinating life and work of Creek artist Mary Smith whose impact on the revitalization of traditional Southeastern indigenous art forms, particularly basketry, has been far-reaching and vital to the survival of her craft. 

(The museum will be closed during the Thanksgiving and Christmas holidays.)

Event Details